Ex-Oyo Commissioner, Afonja charges youth parliament on effective representation

While in Ogbomoso to resolve a lingering crisis amidst the leadership of Ogbomoso Students’ Union, the Ogbomoso caucus of Oyo State Youth Parliament led by the Chairman Hon. Isaac Adebayo paid a courtesy visit to former Commissioner of Public Works and Transport in the State, Professor Abdulrahaman  Raphael Afonja. 

During the visit, the Chairman who spoke on behalf of the guests appreciated the young and brilliant Professor for his magnanimity and act of philanthropism as he sets to commence bursary awarding exercise to Ogbomoso students studying at LAUTECH. 

He also hinted Afonja of the proposed partnership deal of the caucus with the youth wing of the Ogbomoso Parapo Worldwide to organize a ‘manifesto outing’ for the National and State Assembly aspirants of Ogbomosoland in the coming general elections. 

In his reaction, he said; “I appreciates our youth Parliamentarians for the visit and I am charging you guys on quality and effective representation of your constituency, State and nation. most importantly the Ogbomoso legacy that you all are representing out there”

“Your intervention to unite the warring Ogbomoso Students’ Union is actually a commendable outing, moreso, our plan is at final stage to start the disbursement of scholarship award to LAUTECH students within couple of days”

“Your proposed Manifesto is also a great challenge, it will help us adults and our elders to evaluate and appreciate the empathic contents of the products aspiring to represent us at different capacities, set it up and we can support you in anyway you may need our drive.”

“Finally, you guys should sit tight, learn more at the parliament to compete favorably with your colleagues in line with the International best practices. Come out soon and take over mantle of power and never put all the experiences you are garnering to a waste, sky is your starting point”. 

At the meeting includes; Hon. Timothy Oyebamiji (Surulere/Ogooluwa, caucus secretary), Hon. Joshua Ojo Akin (Oriire PRO), Hon. Faozy Gazaly (IBSW) House Committee Chairman on International relations and Conflict Resolutions, Hon. Zaynab Popoola (IBNE1) Secretary, House Committee on Education and Culture), and Miss Feranmi Jacob – a journalist student. As at the time of visitation, Hon. John Adeleke (Ogbomoso North, Deputy Chairman of the caucus) was on another assignment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: