Kishi Igbo community endorses Makinde for second term

The Igbo community in Irepo Local Government has resolved to support Engr. Seyi Makinde’s re-election bid to record an overwhelming victory in tomorrow’s gubernatorial election.

They made this pledge during a courtesy visit of the wife of Oyo Deputy Governor, Chief (Mrs) Ajibola Lawal on Friday evening at their camp in Kishi.

The rationale behind the visit, according to Mrs Lawal, was to appreciate their unwavering support in the last election and to reassure them of Makinde’s inclusive government.

In her call for continued efforts to better their lives, Mrs Lawal solicited massive support of the Igbo community to vote en mass on Saturday for Engr. Seyi Makinde.

She urged the large Igbo community to be committed in voting for the governor and his deputy, Barrister Adebayo Lawal and also encourage their friends and family members.

She equally said that Makinde led administration will continue to make the state peaceful for everyone regardless of tribes or religious beliefs.

Arinzechukwu Omuasi, the chairman of the Igbo community, emphasized the governor’s ability to maintain peace over the course of his three and a half years in office and pledged to support him with their votes. He added that they are supporting him because, despite not being a Yoruba tribe, he has been able to protect them.

He said that under Makinde’s leadership, Oyo state is secure, and that on Saturday, they will march out in large numbers and rally their wives and family members who already have their pvc in place to support the governor.

Earlier in his remarks, Professor Fatai Adeniyi, who accompanied her Excellency and her entourage on the courtesy call, said that Governor Makinde has done well enough to merit a second term and has good intentions for the people of Oyo state.

Later, he thanked the community for supporting the governor and pledging to organize their members on Saturday to deliver the governor.

In the entourage of the wife of the deputy governor include Yeye Adenike Remi-Olarinde; Dr Asaguna; Mrs Adegbayibi Adejoke; Barrister Grace Ajala, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: