Abiola Ajimobi Technical University Bill Passed Into Law By Oyo Assembly 

*It Is A Welcome Development For The State’s Education System- Committee Chairman

The Oyo State House of Assembly has passed the bill renaming The First Technical University to Abiola Ajimobi Technical University into law.

The House passed the bill into law during the plenary on Wednesday after the report of the Committee on Tertiary Institutions was presented by its Chairman, Hon. Oluwafemi Fowokanmi.

The report was considered clause by clause by the lawmakers during the Committee of the whole House was constituted by the Speaker, Hon. Adebo Ogundoyin.

The bill, which renamed the First Technical University, Ibadan to Abiola Ajimobi Technical University was passed into law after it sealed through the third reading.

Speaking on the importance of the passage of the bill into law, the Chairman of the Committee on Tertiary Institutions, Hon. Oluwafemi Fowokanmi, said that the law will enable the institution to enjoy benefits enjoying by other state owned institutions.

Hon. Fowokanmi noted that the institution is being financed from the scholarship payments by the local governments in the state and its internally generated revenue.

The lawmaker maintained that with the renaming of the institution to Abiola Ajimobi Technical University, Ibadan, it has authenticated that the institution is one of the state-owned tertiary institutions and will have the access to subvention like every other institutions in the state.

Hon. Fowokanmi also stated that the move will give the institution the opportunity to enrol students through the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB) and also bring down the tuition fee, which will invariably allow more admission seeker indigenous students to enrol.

It will be recalled that Governor Seyi Makinde sought for the repeal of the law establishing the institution by the House of Assembly to reflect a change of name to Abiola Ajimobi Technical University, Ibadan.

The governor disclosed in the letter forwarded to the House, the step is to ensure that the institution’s governance structures are in line with other state-owned Institutions.

The First Technical University, Ibadan was established by late Governor Abiola Ajimobi in 2017.

Discover more from MouthpieceNGR

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading