Meet 24 lawmakers who moved impeachment process against Oyo deputy gov, Olaniyan

The names of the 24 Oyo State House of Assembly members who instituted impeachment process of the Deputy Governor of the State, Engineer Rauf Olaniyan have been made public.

MOUTHPIECE NGR had earlier reported that some lawmakers in the Oyo State House of Assembly have instituted the impeachment process of the Deputy Governor of the state, Rauf Olaniyan.

This was made known by the members via a petition forwarded to the Assembly on Wednesday.

It was gathered that the Speaker of the Assembly, Adebo Ogundoyin, presided over the Assembly plenary.

MOUTHPIECE NGR recalls that the Deputy Governor has defected from Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Some lawmakers in the Assembly have submitted a petition to the Assembly over what they described as gross misconduct.

The petition has the signatures of twenty-four, 24 lawmakers out of the 32 in the Assembly.

The concerned lawmakers who signed the petition have made a vow that the failure of the number two citizen of the state to honor and respond to the content of the petition will trigger his impeachment.

The Clerk of the House, Yetunde Awe, read the petition titled “Petition and notice of an allegation of the Deputy Governor of Oyo State, His Excellency, Engineer Rauf Olaniyan”, to the house.

Allegations leveled against the Deputy Governor included but not limited to; gross misconduct, abuse of office, financial recklessness, abandonment of office, official duty and insubordination.

The signees of the petition included the Deputy Speaker, Abiodun Muhammad Fadeyi (Ona Ara), Majority leader, Onaolapo Sanjo (Ogbomosho South), Babalola Olasunkanmi (Egbeda), Adebisi Yussuf (Ibadan South West 1), Okedoyin Julius (Saki West) and Adebayo Babajide (Ibadan North 2).

Other signees are Kehinde Olatunde (Akinyele 2), Olajide Akintunde (Lagelu), Mustapha Akeem (Kajola), Popoola Ademola (Ibadan South East 2), Owolabi Olusola (Ibadan North East 2), Olagoke Olamide (Ibadan North East 1), Olayanju Kazeem (Irepo/Olorunsogo), Ojedokun Peter (Ibarapa North/Centre).

The rest are; Gbadamosi Saminu (Saki East/Atisbo), Mabaje Adekunle (Iddo), Oluwafowokanmi Oluwafemi (Ibadan South West 2), Akeem Adedibu (Iwajowa), Fatokun Ayo (Akinyele 1), Rasak Ademola (Ibadan South East 1), Obadara Akeem (Ibadan North West), Oyekunle Fola (Ibadan North 1) and Adetunji Francis (Oluyole).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: