BREAKING: FCT Minister, Wike Approves Demolition of 6000 Houses in Abuja

Baring last minutes change of plans, the newly inaugurated Honourable Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), His Excellency Nyesom Wike has approved the demolition of atleast 6000 illegal structures in Abuja.

MOUTHPIECE NGR understands that the affected areas include slums in Garki, Jabi and 28 other areas which have earlier been surveyed by the Federal Capital Development Authority before this administration.

According to the FCTA, the demolition will affect about 6,000 buildings which have been marked in an effort to rid the territory of shanties and illegal structures.

The FCTA said the demolition will affect 30 areas across the Federal Capital Territory.

IgbereTV recalls that on Monday, Wike vowed to restore the master plan of FCT, saying that all illegal structures would be demolished and that his administration was ready to end land speculations.

Wike said: “We will take back our land and give to those who want to develop, and you must sign that you must develop at so and so time.’’

However, the Director of the FCTA Department of Development Control, Muktar Galadima said a new survey will be conducted.

“We would find time to go back and conduct a new survey,” noting that the last survey carried out was in February, 2022.

Areas marked for demolition according to information which has been authenticated by the FCTA are:

1. Apo Mechanic Village

2. Byanzhin.

3. Dawaki

4. Dei Dei.

5. Durumi.

6. Dutse.

7. Garki.

8. Garki Village.

9. Gishiri.

10. Gwagwalada.

11. Idu.

12. Jabi.

13. Kado Village.

14. Karmo.

15. Karshi.

16. Karu.

17. Katampe.

18. Ketti Village.

19. Kpaduma.

20. Kabusa.

21. Kpana Village.

22. Kubwa.

23. Lokogoma.

24. Lugbe.

25. Mabushi.

26. Mpape.

27. Nyanya.

28. Piya Kasa.

29. Jikwoyi

30. Galadima

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: